Professor Rachel Cooper OBE announced as new president of The Design Research Society

The Design Research Society is delighted to announce that Professor Rachel Cooper OBE has been named as its new President. Rachel is the Distinguished Professor of Design Management and Policy at Lancaster University. Professor Cooper’s research interests cover: design thinking; design management; design policy; and across all sectors of industry, a specific interest in design for wellbeing and socially responsible design. She has published extensively on these topics, including books 'Designing Sustainable Cities' and 'The Handbook of Wellbeing and the Environment'. She is also series editor of the Routledge series Design for Social Responsibility covering topics such as designing for sustainability, inclusivity, service design, sport, health, transport and policy. She was founding editor of The Design Journal and also founding President of the European Academy of Design.


On being appointed, Rachel said;

“I am extremely honoured to be the new DRS president. As the longest established learned society for the design research, DRS have been a constant force throughout my career, enabling me access to contemporary theory and practice in design research and  to work with colleagues across the world. As DRS enters into its next 50 years I look forward to supporting and promoting the purpose of DRS and design research in a global context that offer so many opportunities for this discipline to make a difference to our lives and our planet.”
Outgoing President Professor Nigel Cross commented;

“I have been a member of the Design Research Society for 50 years - from soon after its founding in 1966 - and I have been its President for the last 11 years. The society has never been in a stronger position than it is today, and on a truly international scale. I am delighted to have been associated with this growing success, which is due to the efforts of many people, but especially the active members of its Council in recent years. I have been honoured to be President, and I am very pleased to be handing over to Rachel Cooper as the new President. I wish the Society continued success."