Skip to Main Content

2020 Election Results

Election Results

Following the close of elections we are pleased to announce the 18 members that were elected to serve on the International Advisory Council for a period of 6 years.

198 members (38% of those eligible to vote) voted in the election with a total of 2262 votes cast for the 41 candidates. Candidates gaining 61 votes or more were successfully elected. We would like to thank all candidates who stood for election, and look forward to an exciting future with this new international and diverse Council. 


Elected Candidates

The 18 candidates successfully elected to the International Advisory Council are listed below in alphabetical order.

Stella Boess
TU Delft, The Netherlands

Rebecca Cain
Loughborough University, UK

Lin-Lin Chen
Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands

Catalina Cortés Loyola
Universidad del Desarrollo, Santiago, Chile

Kees Dorst
University of Technology Sydney, Australia

Jodi Forlizzi
Carnegie Mellon University, US

Paul Hekkert
Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

Sampsa Hyysalo
Aalto University, Finland

Sabine Junginger
Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts, Switzerland

Peter Lloyd
TU Delft, The Netherlands

Dan Lockton
Carnegie Mellon University, US

Juan Giusepe Montalvan
Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú, Peru

Tek-Jin Nam
KAIST, South Korea

Arlene Oak
University of Alberta, Canada

Johan Redström
Umeå University, Sweden

Anna Vallgårda
IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Heather Wiltse
Umeå University, Sweden

Toshimasa Yamanaka
University of Tsukuba, Japan


About the International Advisory Council

The new International Advisory Council (IAC) will be the main advisory body within the new DRS Governance Structure. The International Advisory Council will work with a 5-person Executive Board—formed from the International Advisory Council—in delivering strategy over the coming years. The IAC will meet once a year face-to-face and will operate through working groups, meeting online and liaising with the Executive Board throughout the year.

IAC members will help develop policy, work on specific projects, and enhance the range of activities offered by the DRS to strengthen the network of existing design researchers and nurture the development of new researchers.

IAC Members are elected for a period of six years, with the possibility of a two-year extension. Following election, IAC Members will be eligible to stand for the Executive Board that will manage the week-to-week working of the Society. The Executive Board will consist of: Chair of the Society, Vice Chair, Treasurer, Secretary, and one other Member. IAC Members will also be eligible to stand for the position of Chair of the International Advisory Council.


Further Information

DRS elections are run independently, using the Opavote system, by the DRS Administrator. If you would like any further information about the elections please contact the DRS Administrator Linda Anderson,


Equal Opportunities

The DRS celebrates and supports diversity for the benefit of our members, our services, and our community. The DRS is proud to promote equal opportunities in all the activities that it organizes and supports.


Reference Documents

Full List of Election Candidates and Statements | pdf

Call for Nominations |  webpage

International Advisory Council Member Role Description | pdf

Executive Board Member Role Description | pdf

Nomination Form | Word

Annual Reports | 2019 pdf | 2018 pdf | 2017 pdf

2019 Governance Proposal | pdf

Rules of the Society and Transition Plan 2020-2028 | pdf